January 9th, 2019 Posted In: sports

Team TNV


In Men’s singles finals, Aashrun who was playing Parteek Mahajan was at the top of his game in this match. He played a fast-paced game, mixing fierce and accurate smashes with delicate drops to register a comprehensive 21-10, 21-11 win over his opponent.

The women’s singles final was a contrasting match, an engaging battle which witnessed plenty of lengthy rallies. Lydia who has been in fine form this season edged out  Pranjal Chimulkar in an extremely hard fought match, winning  21-11, 11-21, 21-19. Lydia later teamed up with Yasmin Sayed to register a 21-16, 21-19 win over Anushka Kuvelkar / Pranjal Chimulkar and capture her double crown. Sanquelim boy, Karan Dhavaskar had plenty of reasons to smile as he went on to win the Mixed doubles title, partnering Anushaka Kuvelkar. For Anushka, it was her third mixed doubles title this season, thereby making it a clean sweep for her in this category. In Men’s doubles, top seeds Tejan Fallary and Sunny Sawant justified their top billing with a confident 21-15, 21-10 win over second seeds Floyd Araujo and Fredrick Fernandes to clinch the title.

Mr. Gurudas Kadam, PI, Mr. Paresh Kamat, Mr. Sanjay Bhobe, and GBA officials Narahar Thakur, Sandeep Heble, Sudin Kuvelkar and Roy Ataide (Referee) graced the closing function. Earlier, Parteek Mahajan upset Tejan Fallary 14-21, 21-14, 21-10 in three hard fought sets in Men’s singles semis while Aashrun Gautam eased past Sushil Nayak winning 21-17, 21-6 in the other semi finals. In women’s singles semi finals, Lydia Barreto defeated Yasmin Sayed 21-19, 21-7 while Pranjal Chimulkar was given a tough fight by Anar Singbal before prevailing to a 21-12, 15-21, 21-13 win in the other semi finals. 

Promising player prizes were awarded to Sadiq Attar, Chetan Magdum, Yash Halarnkar, Divyesh Shirsat, Suresh Pujari, Parth Kantak, Om Parodkar, Tanushri Shadani, Siya Dhavaskar, Aryan Fatapekar, Rhucha Bhobe, Aniket Redkar, Salauni Naik, Gosh Nadaf, Malaika Lobo and Shivam Saini. Following are the semi finals and finals results:


Semi Finals Results:


Men’s Singles

Parteek Mahajan bt Tejan Fallary 14-21, 21-14, 21-10

Aashrun Gautam bt Sushil Nayak 21-17, 21-6


Men’s Doubles

Tejan Fallary / Sunny Sawant bt Parteek Mahajan / Sanath Kamat 21-10, 21-5

Floyd Araujo / Fredrickk Fernandes bt Arjun Fallary / Dhruv Angle 21-18, 12-21, 21-18


Women’s Singles

Lydia Barreto bt Yasmin Sayed 21-19, 21-7

Pranjal Chimulkar bt Anar Singbal 21-12, 15-21, 21-13


Women’s Doubles

Anushka Kuvelkar / Pranjal Chimulkar bt Tanushri Shadani / Disha Dutta 21-7, 21-7

Yasmin Sayed / Lydia Barreto bt Vrushali Cardoso / Vineeta Adpaikar 21-3, 21-9


Mixed Doubles

Karan Dhavaskar / Anushka Kuvelkar bt Parag Chauhan / Supriya Kuchelkar 21-10, 21-12

Tejan Fallary / Anar Singbal bt Floyd Araujo / Pranjal Chimulkar 21-11, 16-21, 21-10



Finals Results:


Men’s Singles

Aashrun Gautam bt Parteek Mahajan 21-10, 21-11


Women’s Singles

Lydia Barreto bt Pranjal Chimulkar 21-11, 11-21, 21-19


Men’s Doubles

Tejan Fallary / Sunny Sawant bt Floyd Araujo / Fredrick Fernandes 21-15, 21-10


Women’s Doubles

Lydia Barreto / Yasmin Sayed bt Anushka Kuvelkar / Pranjal Chimulkar 21-16, 21-19


Mixed Doubles

Karan Dhavaskar / Anushka Kuvelkar bt Tejan Fallary / Anar Singbal 21-16, 22-20


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Team TNV

The author is a senior Journalist working in Goa for last one and half decade with the experience of covering wide-scale issues ranging from entertainment to politics and defense.

subscribe & follow


All rights reserved copyright ©2017
Visitor Count: 2796733
Designed and maintained by Leigia Solutions