June 13th, 2018 Posted In: sports

Team TNV

Floyd Araujo, Supriya Kuchelkar and Rudra Dukle emerged double crown winners at the 1st Goa Badminton Convention organised by Mapusa Shuttlers and Panjim Smashers Club in collaboration with  Goa Badminton Association and the Sports Authority of Goa, which concluded at Indoor stadium Campal with prizes distributed in Ranked Players and Senior Players categories. Rudra Phadte, Yash Halarnkar, Suresh Pujari, Fredrick Fernandes, Vrushali Cardoso, Deepak Bhanushali and Pooja Raipurkar also walked away with titles. Superintendent of Police Mr. Raj Kumar Yadav, Yoga Coach Mr. Suresh Kumar, Dr Deepak Mayekar, Geologist, Dept of Mines and Geology, Mr. Hilary Fernandes and organising members Sandeep Heble (GBA Secretary) and Rahul Chandrashekar (Treasurer, Panjim Smashers Club) graced the prize distribution function. Badminton players participated in an essay, photography and Art competition on the occasion to bring the curtains down on the week long Convention held at Mapusa and Panjim. Following are the list of Winners: 
Ranked Players Category: 
U13 Boys Singles –  Rudra Phadte (Winner),  Vedant Chauhan (Runner up), Pranav Naik (3rd Place) 
U15 Boys Singles – Rudra Dukle (Winner), Yash Halarnkar (Runner up), Aashutosh Dhavalikar (3rd Place)
U17 Boys Singles –  Yash Halarnkar (Winner), Ayaan Shaikh  (Runner up), Tejas Tendulkar (3rd Place)    
U19 Boys – Suresh Pujari(Winner), Sadiq Attar (Runner up), Ritesh Borkar (3rd Place)
Boys Doubles – Sushil Nayak / Rudra Dukle (Winners), Chetan Magdum / Yash Halarnkar (Runners up), Ayaan Shaikh / Rudra Khot (3rd Place)
Men’s Singles – Floyd Araujo (Winner), Karan Dhawaaskar (Runner up), Fredrick Fernandes and Sunny Sawant (3rd Place)
Men’s Doubles – Floyd Araujo / Fredrick Fernandes (Winners), Parag Chauhan / Dattaprasad Parab (Runners up), Sunny Sawant / Darwin Barreto (3rd place)
Non Ranked Players Category:  
Women’s Singles – Supriya Kuchelkar (Winner), Marina Albuquerque (Runners up), Laveena Dias (3rd Place)
Women’s Doubles – Vrushali Cardoso / Supriya Kuchelkar (Winners), Avita Bandodkar / Marina Albuquerque (Runners up), Laveena Dias / Mahima (3rd Place)
Mixed Doubles – Deepak Bhanushali / Pooja Raipurkar (Winners), Shashank Desai / Avita Bandodkar (Runners up) 
Essay Competition – Sushil Nayak (Winner), Art – Vrishab Gaonkar (Winner), Photography – Jonas Fernandes (Winner)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Team TNV

The author is a senior Journalist working in Goa for last one and half decade with the experience of covering wide-scale issues ranging from entertainment to politics and defense.

subscribe & follow


All rights reserved copyright ©2017
Visitor Count: 2781104
Designed and maintained by Leigia Solutions