January 29th, 2018 Posted In: sports

Team TNV

Panaji (Goa): The Directorate of Fire Services bagged the Linc Properties Trophy for top Corporate Team at the Linc Tower Run, Goa 2018, held at Patto Plaza, Panaji, on 28 January. Zantye College, Bicholim, won the Linc Student Trophy for top College Team. But the team that stole the show was the Navymen’s INS Mandovi 2, which won the Open Team category, covering 840 steps up and 840 steps down in a record time of 8 minutes 16 seconds.

Devraj and Pooja Malgaonkar were the winners of the Open category, while Vishwanath Shetye won in the Veteran (45+) category. Kunal Prakash and Siddhi Bhat were the winners in the Student (18-) category. Carmel College, Nuvem, bagged the prize for fastest All-Women’s Team.

Over 120 individual runners and 45 teams of five runners each participated in the event, organised by adventure sports outfit Adventure Breaks. The races were flagged off by Guest of Honour Rajesh Dempo. The Chief Guest was the Commandant of the War College at INS Mandovi, Rear Admiral Sandeep Beecha.

Prizes were distributed by Bhakti and Rajesh Dempo, Meenakshi and Rear Admiral Sandeep Beecha, and Linc Properties CMD Prakash Jalan. Speaking on the occasion, RAdm Beecha said that the event shows that the very symbols of urbanisation — high rise buildings — can be used as tools to improve health.

Styled as ‘A Fusion of Sport and Art’, the event included a Zumba performance by Sheryl Vaz and the Studio Divas, a warm-up session by Norbert’s Fitness Studio, martial arts demos by Rahim (Kick Boxing) and Krav Maga, Goa. A Yoga demo was conducted by Traya Wellness Centre, and a Nutrition Quiz by Diet Clinic. PSI Pawar of the Goa Police Anti-Terrorist Squad (ATS) gave a short presentation on what to do in case of a terrorist attack.

ProByk showcased cycling as a healthy sport, while Adventure Breaks had a stall promoting Rock Climbing. Apart from healthy activities, there were healthy foods. Frugurt handed out cups of their fruit yoghurts, while Krazy Kats sold healthy wraps, Aunty Catarina’s offered fruit smoothies.


Open Men: (1) Devaraj (11:08), (2) Brijesh Kumar (11:30), (3) Ravi Sharma (11:32).

Open Women: (1) Pooja Malgaonkar (18:15), (2) Rejitha Rajan (21:59), (3) Yogeeta Khatkate (21:33). 

Veteran Men: (1) Vishwanath Shetye (12:35), (2) Nikheel Brid (15:27), (3) Ulric Rodrigues (16:08). 

Vertical Sprint Men: (1) Devraj Gholkar (0:56), (2) Inaayat (0:57.01), (3) Vinay Dabinath (0:57.02). 

Vertical Sprint Women: (1) Anushka Kavlekar (1:38), (2) Suzanne (1:57), (3) Shradha Ramesh Joshi (2:02). 

Corporate Team: (1) Directorate of Fire Services (09:24), (2) GKB Vision I (10:05), (3) Crown Hotel 3 (10:14). 

Open Team: (1) INS Mandovi II (08:16), (2) Predator (9:01), (3) NPRS INS Mandovi (9:35). 

Student Team: (1) Zantye College (8:53), (2) Kendriya Vidyalaya 2 (9:17), (3) Dempo Commerce II (9:44). 

Fastest All Women’s Team: Carmel  College (11.55).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Team TNV

The author is a senior Journalist working in Goa for last one and half decade with the experience of covering wide-scale issues ranging from entertainment to politics and defense.

subscribe & follow


All rights reserved copyright ©2017
Visitor Count: 2446017
Designed and maintained by Leigia Solutions