August 28th, 2017 Posted In: politics

Team TNV

Panaji (Goa) Following landslide victory of BJP in both the constituencies during recently held by-election, Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar remains firm in the saddle with his party’s number increasing on the floor of the House.

Parrikar won in Panaji constituency and party candidate Vishwajit Rane won from Valpoi constituency for the by-election held on August 23, the results of which were declared today.

BJP which had failed to gain majority on the floor of the House after 2017 General Assembly election was left with only 12 members after its Panaji MLA Siddharth Kuncolienkar had resigned to make way for Parrikar.

Congress party on the other hand had 16 legislators after its Valpoi MLA Vishwajit Rane had resigned to join BJP.

With the current results, BJP’s tally on the floor has gone up to 14 while Congress is at 16. Goa Forward Party and MGP has three legislators each, while three are from Independent. There is lone NCP legislator in the House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Team TNV

The author is a senior Journalist working in Goa for last one and half decade with the experience of covering wide-scale issues ranging from entertainment to politics and defense.

subscribe & follow

Neutral Opinion

RAAJ GONSALVES   Congratulations to all Goans on the Opinion Poll Day. It’s a historic day .. read more

View all
All rights reserved copyright ©2017
Visitor Count: 860769
Designed and maintained by Leigia Solutions