August 8th, 2017 Posted In: sports

Team TNV

PONDA (GOA): Govind Navelkar and Anjana Kumari claimed men’s and women’s singles titles while Tejan Fallary won a double crown at the State Badminton Championships that concluded on Sunday.
The championships were organised by Ponda Badminton Club in collaboration with Goa Badminton Association, DSYA and SAG, at Sports Complex, Ponda.
The Men’s singles final was evenly poised at 1 set a piece but Parteek Mahajan ran out of steam in the deciding set to concede the match to Goa’s veteran warhorse Govind Navelkar. Govind won 21-16, 21-23, 6-5 (Conceded).
In women’s singles, Anjana Kumari overcame stiff resistance from Anar Singbal before winning 21-18, 21-16.
In men’s doubles, it was a smooth ride for top seeds Tejan Fallary and Parteek Mahajan who outplayed their rivals Floyd Araujo / Pankaj Naik , winning 21-14, 21-13. Tejan along with Emilia Silveira won their third consecutive mixed doubles title this season by beating Floyd Araujo / Anar Singbal 21-16, 21-15.
The veterans men’s 45+ category was expected to be a close fight between two tough pairs but Ayoob C.K and Pradeep Prabhu emerged winners, with a comfortable 21-12, 21-14 win over Vaman Fallary and Wilson D’ Souza.
The men’s 55+ doubles was more evenly fought with top seeds T.A. Sawant and Zenin Almeida putting it across local favourites Pradeep Dhond and V.G. Prabhu to win 21-19, 21-17.
The prize distribution function was graced by Ratish Pawar, director of Circle Logistics, Narahar Thakur, president of Goa Badminton Association (GBA), Sandeep Heble, GBA secretary and Ponda Badminton Club members- Peter Tellis, Ramchandra Dalvi

Finals results
Men’s Singles: Govind Navelkar bt Parteek Mahajan 21-16, 21-23, 6-5 (Conceded)
Women’s Singles: Anjana Kumari bt Anar Singbal 21-18, 21-16
Men’s Doubles: Tejan Fallary / Parteek Mahajan bt Floyd Araujo / Pankaj Naik 21-14, 21-13
Mixed Doubles: Tejan Fallary / Emilia Silveira bt Floyd Araujo / Anar Singbal 21-16, 21-15
Men’s 45+ Doubles: Ayoob C.K / Pradeep Prabhu bt Vaman Fallary / Wilson D’ Souza 21-12, 21-14
Men’s 55+ Doubles: T.A. Sawant / Zenin Almeida bt Pradeep Dhond / V.G. Prabhu 21-19, 21-17

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Team TNV

The author is a senior Journalist working in Goa for last one and half decade with the experience of covering wide-scale issues ranging from entertainment to politics and defense.

subscribe & follow


All rights reserved copyright ©2017
Visitor Count: 1430845
Designed and maintained by Leigia Solutions