November 2nd, 2017 Posted In: sports

Team TNV



Rudra Dukle won a triple crown while Arjun Fallary, Lydia Barreto and Arshia Gautam won double crowns each, at the State Sub Junior Badminton Championship 2017 organised by Shuttlers Club in collaboration with Goa Badminton Association and the Sports Authority of Goa, at Indoor stadium, Campal, Panaji.

The Under 15 Boys singles finals was expected to be a close fight but Arjun Fallary was in sparkling form to turn things around. In the first set, Arjun who had lost to Shourya Joshi in a previous tournament in Mapusa was down 18-20 to the same opponent in the first set but held his nerves to win 22-20. In the second set, it was Arjun all the way as he raced to a commanding lead with an array of strokes and a clinical game giving Shourya no chance of a comeback. He won 22-20, 21-15.

Lydia Barreto won her Under 15 Girls finals without having to break a sweat, with her opponent Aahana Nayak conceding the match due to injury.

Rudra Dukle and Arshia Gautam, the top seeds in Under 13 Girls and Boys categories, won their titles with ease while the other results too went on expected lines with top contenders emerging victorious.

Rhea Kanji, Arjun Anand and Parth Kantak emerged promising players of the tournament.

Siddharth Kunkolienker, Chairman (EDC), Richard D’Souza (Ex Principal Conservator of Forests), Ashok Menon (Director of Fire and Emergency Services), Anura Prabhu Desai, India’s top ranked shuttler and GBA Officials Sandeep Heble and Sandeep Khandeparkar graced the prize distribution occasion. Shuttlers Club and Goa Badminton Association felicitated Anura Prabhu Desai during the occasion for attaining top India ranking in singles as well as in doubles.

Following are the finals results:

 Under 13 Girls Singles: Arshia Gautam bt Tanushri Shadani (21-9, 21-7)

 Under 13 Boys Singles: Rudra Dukle bt Yash Desai (21-14, 21-9)

 Under 15 Girls Singles: Lydia Barreto bt Aahana Nayak (Conceded by walkover)

 Under 15 Boys Singles: Arjun Fallary bt Shourya Joshi (22-20, 21-15)

 Under 13 Girls Doubles: Arshia Gautam / Aakanksha Tiwari bt Andrea Kalavampara / Siya Kolwalkar (21-12, 21-8)

Under 13 Boys Doubles: Rudra Dukle / Harsh Mane bt Yash Desai / Aryan Kumar (21-14, 21-18)

Under 15 Girls Doubles: Lydia Barreto / Dhiti Lotlikar bt Simran Pathak / Arshia Gautam (21-19, 21-16)

Under 15 Boys Doubles: Rudra Dukle / Arjun Fallary bt Shourya Joshi / Tejas Tendulkar (21-16, 21-13)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Team TNV

The author is a senior Journalist working in Goa for last one and half decade with the experience of covering wide-scale issues ranging from entertainment to politics and defense.

subscribe & follow


All rights reserved copyright ©2017
Visitor Count: 2977841
Designed and maintained by Leigia Solutions