November 30th, 2018 Posted In: sports

Team TNV


Ayoob C.K and Dr Sandip Fowker emerged on top after an engaging three-set battle to capture the Men’s 45+ doubles title, at the State Masters (Veteran) Badminton championships organised by Morning Badminton Club in collaboration with Goa Badminton Association and the Sports Authority of Goa.

In the finals played at the Multipurpose stadium, Peddem, the Margao based pair who had earlier knocked out top seeds Sandip and Kamlesh Kanji in the semifinals once again put up a fine performance, ousting second seeds Pradeep Prabhu and Chinmay Fallary 19-21, 21-14, 22-20 to emerge victorious.

Vaman Fallary and Wilson D’ Souza emerged Men’s 50+ doubles champions with a comfortable 21-14, 21-16 win over Oscar Afonso and Leonel Fernandes while the Men’s 55+ doubles title was won by Sadanand Talaulikar and Vamanan K who narrowly upstaged Ashok Menon and Cancio Mascarenhas 14-21, 21-17, 21-19 in a thrilling contest.

In Men’s 60+ doubles, top seeds Peter Tellis and T.A. Sawant were in cruise control against Vamanan K and Miguel Rego, registering an emphatic 21-9, 21-7 win to lift the title. Aniket Redkar and Sohan Naik edged out Manish Pankhania and Meghal Kauthankar 23-21, 17-21, 21-19 to emerge champions in Men’s non-ranking doubles category.

Special Promising player prizes were awarded to Junior players Chiraag Mahale, Samarth Kamat, Soham Mandrekar, Swapnil Mahadeshwar, Sharvil Naik, Ashmeet Parsekar, Tejas Suthar, Arfath Shaikh and Saad Khan.

Minister for Ports, RDA and Housing Jayesh Salgaonkar, Edwin Menezes (Edcon Real Estate), Richard De Souza (Ex. Pricipal Conservator of Forests), Narahar Thakur (President, GBA), Sandeep Heble (Secretary, GBA), Ashok Menon (Director, Fire Services), Hilary Fernandes (Sports promoter) and Agnel Da Cunha (organising Secretary) graced the closing function. Finals Results:

Men’s 45+ Doubles finals
Ayoob C.K / Dr Sandip Fowker bt Pradeep Prabhu / Chinmay Fallary 1-21, 21-14, 22-20

Men’s 50+ Doubles finals
Vaman Fallary / Wilson D’ Souza bt Oscar Afonso / Leonel Fernandes 21-14, 21-16

Men’s 55+ Doubles finals
Sadanand Talaulikar / Vamanan K bt Ashok Menon / Cancio Mascarenhas 14-21, 21-17, 21-19

Men’s 60+ Doubles finals
Peter Tellis / T.A. Sawant bt Vamanan K / Miguel Rego 21-9, 21-7

Men’s Non Ranking Doubles
Aniket Redkar / Sohan Naik bt Manish Pankhania / Meghal Kauthankar 23-21, 17-21, 21-19

Photographs of winners with dignitaries enclosed.
Also enclosed, photographs of

45+ Doubles winners – Ayoob C.K and Dr Sandip Fowker
Men’s 50+ Doubles winners – Vaman Fallary / Wilson D’ Souza
Men’s 55+ Doubles winners – Sadanand Talaulikar / Vamanan K
Men’s 60+ Doubles winners – Peter Tellis / T.A. Sawant
Mens Non Ranking winners – Aniket Redkar / Sohan Naik

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Author

Team TNV

The author is a senior Journalist working in Goa for last one and half decade with the experience of covering wide-scale issues ranging from entertainment to politics and defense.

subscribe & follow


All rights reserved copyright ©2017
Visitor Count: 2647410
Designed and maintained by Leigia Solutions